Fiftieth Anniversary of FederationPrint Page Print this page

Photographs supplied by Stephen Warren

The plaque commemorates the fiftieth anniversary of the Federation of Australia.

The Federation of Australia was the process by which the six separate British self-governing colonies of Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia, and Western Australia formed one nation. They kept the systems of government (and the bicameral legislatures) that they had developed as separate colonies, but they also agreed to have a federal government that was responsible for matters concerning the whole nation. When the Constitution of Australia came into force, on 1 January 1901, the colonies collectively became states of the Commonwealth of Australia.


Address:Wallace Street, 8 Balaklava Institute, Balaklava, 5461
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -34.146666
Long: 138.415498
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Government
Actual Event Start Date:01-January-1901
Actual Event End Date:01-January-1951


Approx. Monument Dedication Date:1951
Front Inscription

           This Plaque
The Fiftieth Anniversary Of
Federation Of The Australian States

Erected By The Balaklava 
Jubilee Committee 

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design