Centenary of Federation ArchPrint Page Print this page

The arch commemorates the Centenary of Federation of the Australian colonies in January 1901.

The Federation of Australia was the process by which the six separate British self-governing colonies of Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia, and Western Australia formed one nation. They kept the systems of government (and the bicameral legislatures) that they had developed as separate colonies, but they also agreed to have a federal government that was responsible for matters concerning the whole nation. When the Constitution of Australia came into force, on 1 January 1901, the colonies collectively became states of the Commonwealth of Australia.


Address:O G Road, Payneham, 5070
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -34.893691
Long: 138.642235
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Structure
Monument Theme:Government
Approx. Event Start Date:1901
Approx. Event End Date:2001


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Wednesday 25th April, 2001
Right Side Inscription


To Commemorate The Celebration
Of The Centenary Of Federation
1901 - 2001
Unveiled By
Mayor Laurie Fioravanti
Clarrie Pollard  
President Payneham R. & S. L.

ANZAC Day 25 April 2001


Source: RVWM
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design