Centenary of Women`s SuffragePrint Page Print this page

The Centenary of Women’s Suffrage Fountain commemorates the Commonwealth Franchise Act, which came into effect on 12 June 1902, granting Australian women aged 21 and over (with the exception of Indigenous women in some States), the right to vote and to stand in Commonwealth elections.

The commemorative fountain is located at the entrance to the House of Representatives garden within a walkway linking Old Parliament House to Constitution Place.

The border of the water feature records the passage of the Commonwealth Franchise Act in 1902 and the commemoration of the 1903 election (in which women voted and stood for Parliament for the first time). A timeline extends from the water feature within the pavement under a wisteria covered pergola towards Constitution Place. Along the timeline are recorded the milestones and significant achievements of women in Federal Parliament. The timeline is created using the same tiles as used in the fountain.


Address:18 King George Terrace , Old Parliament House, Parkes, 2600
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -35.301961
Long: 149.129922
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Fountain
Monument Theme:Government
Designer:Cate Riley & Andrew Smith (National Capital Authority)


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Thursday 2nd December, 2004
Source: MA,NC
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design