Centenary of FederationPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Stephen Warren

The rotunda commemorates the centenary of the Federation of Australia of the Australian colonies in 1901. 

The Federation of Australia was the process by which the six separate British self governing colonies of Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia and Western Australia formed one nation.  When the Constitution of Australia came into force, on 1 January 1901, the colonies collectively became states of the Commonwealth of Australia.


Address:Union Street, Pioneer Park, Gawler, 5118
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -34.595928
Long: 138.749998
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Structure
Monument Theme:Government
Actual Event Start Date:01-January-1901
Actual Event End Date:01-January-2001


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Saturday 3rd November, 2001
Front Inscription

Gawler Lions Rotunda

Plaque :

Town of Gawler

The Gawler Lions Rotunda

A Centenary of Federation project jointly funded by the Town of Gawler and the Gawler Lions Club

Opened on 3 November 2001 by Mayor Tony Piccolo

Under this plaque is a time capsule laid down on 3 November 2001

Not to be opened by 3 November 2101


Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design