75th Anniversary of the Royal Australian NavyPrint Page Print this page

Photographs supplied by Bryan Cole

The tree was planted to commemorate the 75th Anniversary of the Royal Australian Navy.

From settlement in 1788, to 1859, Australia depended on units detached from the Royal Navy based in Sydney to provide Naval defence. In 1859, Australia was established as a separate British Naval Station, and until 1913, a squadron of the Royal Navy was maintained in Australian waters. This Australian unit was to be paid for and controlled by the Australian Commonwealth and was to be eventually manned by Australian personnel.

At an Imperial Conference held in 1909, it was decided to deploy to Australian waters a naval unit consisting of at least a battle cruiser, three second class cruisers, six destroyers, three submarines and a number of auxiliaries. Detailed discussions were held on 19 August 1909 between representatives of the British Admiralty and the Australian Government that resulted in a decision to proceed with the establishment of an Australian Fleet Unit. The first units of this Navy, the destroyers, HMA Ships Yarra and Parramatta, reached Australian waters in November 1910 and in the following year on 10 July 1911, His Majesty King George V granted the title of ‘Royal Australian Navy’ to the Commonwealth Naval Forces.



Address:Dawson & Porter Streets, Arthur Neighbour Reserve, Goolwa, 5214
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -35.503056
Long: 138.782701
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Tree
Monument Theme:Government
Actual Event Start Date:10-July-1911
Actual Event End Date:10-July-1986


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Sunday 19th October, 1986
Front Inscription

This tree was planted by the Chief of Naval Staff Vice Admiral M W Hudson A.O. R.A.N. on Sunday 19 October 1986 in the  75th anniversary year of the formation of the Royal Australian Navy

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design