Centenary of FederationPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Sandra Brown

The grandstand commemorates the centenary of the Federation of the Australian colonies in 1901.

The Federation of Australia was the process by which the six separate British self governing colonies of Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia and Western Australia formed one nation.  When the Constitution of Australia came into force, on 1 January 1901, the colonies collectively became states of the Commonwealth of Australia.


Address:Cowen & King Streets, Toongabbie Village Green , Toongabbie, 3856
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -38.058779
Long: 146.622435
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Structure
Monument Theme:Government
Actual Event Start Date:01-January-1901
Actual Event End Date:01-January-2001
Designer:David Blomquist
Monument Manufacturer:Gippsland Group Training Limited


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Sunday 25th February, 2001
Front Inscription

To celebrate the Centenary of the Federation of Australia this grandstand was officially opened by the Hon. Peter McGauran Minister for the Arts and the Centenary of Federation, and Member for Gippsland on 25th February 2001

Designer : David Blomquist
Builder : Gippsland Group Training Limited

Toongabbie Recreation Reserve Committee

President : G. A. Berrett
Secretary : M. G. Woods
Treasurer : R. A. Ries

The Committee gratefully acknowledges the generous support of the Centenary of Federation Fund and Paul, Terrell, Marina and Tara Lindner which ensured the success of this project

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design