75th Anniversary of the Royal Australian Air ForcePrint Page Print this page

22-June-2021 (Henry Moulds)
22-June-2021 (Henry Moulds)

Photographs supplied by Roger Johnson / Henry Moulds

The time capsule was dedicated by the Rotary Club of Cloncurry in celebration of the air expedition commemorating the 75th anniversary of the Royal Australian Air Force (RAAF) in 1996.

The time capsule is to be opened on the 100th anniversary of the RAAF in 2021. 

The Australia Flying Corps (AFC) was formed as a Militia unit, with staff and students to be selected from the Citizen Forces. After an abortive deployment to German New Guinea at the end of 1914 as part of the Australian Naval and Military Expeditionary Force, it earned a most creditable reputation in both Palestine and France during World War 1 as a part of the Australian Imperial Force (AIF).

The Australian Flying Corps remained part of the Australian Army until 1919, when it was disbanded along with the AIF. Although the Central Flying School continued to operate at Point Cook, military flying virtually ceased until 1920, when the Australian Air Corps was formed. The Australian Air Force was formed on 31 March 1921. King George V approved the prefix "Royal" in June 1921 and it became effective on 31 August 1921. The RAAF then became the second Royal air arm to be formed in the British Commonwealth, following the British Royal Air Force.


Address:Sir Hudson Fysh Drive, Cloncurry Aerodrome, Cloncurry, 4824
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -20.668717
Long: 140.509221
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Monument
Monument Theme:Government
Actual Event Start Date:09-August-1921
Actual Event End Date:09-August-1996


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Friday 9th August, 1996
Front Inscription

In celebration of the Air Expedition commemorating the 75th anniversary of the RAAF ( 9 / 8 / 96) the Rotary Club of Cloncurry Inc has dedicated a time capsule to be opened on the 100th anniversary of the RAAF ( 9 / 8 / 21). 

Contents to be donated to the Cloncurry Historical Society.

Officially dedicated by

Charter Member   Colin Dawes
District Governor  Lawrie Evans
President              Roley Wilson

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design