Centenary of FederationPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by John Huth

The plaque commemorates the Centenary of the Federation of the Australian colonies in January 1901.

The Federation of Australia was the process by which the six separate British self governing colonies of Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia and Western Australia formed one nation. When the Constitution of Australia came into force, on 1 January 1901, the colonies collectively became states of the Commonwealth of Australia. They kept the systems of government that they had developed as separate colonies but also would have a federal government that was responsible for matters concerning the whole nation.


Address:Main & Smith Streets, Cudal, 2864
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -33.286753
Long: 148.739289
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Government
Actual Event Start Date:01-January-1901
Actual Event End Date:01-January-2001


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Sunday 9th September, 2001
Front Inscription

Centenary of Federation 2001
This plaque was officially unveiled by
Councillor J. S. Farr
Mayor of Cabonne
During the back to Cudal Weekend on
8th and 9th September 2001
to mark the Centenary of Federation
and the contribution of past and present
residents of Cudal & District.

Cudal Local Committee :
N. Freeman, L.M. Stapleton O.A.M., H. Stapleton, J. Walley, M. Parrish, C. Parrish, K. Freklington, T. Seale, H. Seale, D. Ryan, J.Chellas, K. Jenkins, N. Price, M.Gosper, D. O`Brien.

W. J. Chase  Secretary
D. S. Dean  Chairman

Left Side Inscription


Right Side Inscription



Inscription in Proximity


Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design