Muttaburra Jubilee ParkPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by John Huth
Muttaburra Jubilee Park commemorates the 50th anniversary of the Federation of Australia. 

The Federation of Australia was the process by which the six separate British self governing colonies of Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia and Western Australia formed one nation.  When the Constitution of Australia came into force, on 1 January 1901, the colonies collectively became states of the Commonwealth of Australia.

Extensive plans are afoot for the celebration of Commonwealth Jubilee Day in Muttaburra, and at a meeting on Wednesday night the organisation of the programme was completed. The day will be celebrated next Saturday, 10th November. There will be a procession through the streets, featuring historical vehicles and carriages. and decorated floats, and novelty entries, depicting various interests in the district. The procession will conclude at the new Muttaburra Jubilee Park, where Hon. G. H. Devries, with Mrs. Devries, Cr. R. A. Stobo (chairman of the Aramac Shire Council) and Mr. l Marston (Mr. Devrles' secretary) will be among the official party. Mr. Devrles has consented to perform the official opening of the Park.
Longreach Leader (Qld.), 2 November 1951. 


Address:Sword & Edkins Street, Muttaburra, 4732
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -22.59551
Long: 144.546536
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Park
Monument Theme:Government
Actual Event Start Date:01-January-1901
Actual Event End Date:01-January-1951


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Saturday 10th November, 1951
Front Inscription

Muttaburra Jubilee Park

This park was opened in the Jubilee Year 1951 by the Hon. G. H. Devries M.L.A. on the 10th November, 1951.

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design