Federation ClockPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Russell Byers / Diane Watson / John Huth
A clock, which was originally erected to commemorate the pioneers of the Sarina District in 1976, was re-dedicated as the Federation Clock in 2001 to commemorate the centenary of the Federation of the Australian colonies in 1901.

The Federation of Australia was the process by which the six separate British self-governing colonies of Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia, and Western Australia agreed to unite and form the Commonwealth of Australia, establishing a system of federalism in Australia. When the Constitution of Australia came into force, on 1 January 1901, the colonies collectively became states of the Commonwealth of Australia.


Address:Broad Street, Sarina, 4737
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -21.423016
Long: 149.217422
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Clock
Monument Theme:Government
Actual Event Start Date:01-January-1901
Actual Event End Date:01-January-2001
Artist:Adriaan Vanderlugt (sculptor)


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Thursday 27th September, 2001
Front Inscription
Centenary of Federation
Left Side Inscription

Coast to Coal Sculpture  Symposium

Presented by the Whitsunday Centenary of Federation Association Inc.

Federation Clock

Sculptor : Adriaan Vanderlugt

Officially dedicated on this 27th day of September, 2001

This project was financially assisted by the Queensland Government through Centenary of Federation Queensland and proudly sponsored by
Ergon Energy : Central Queensland Mining Supplies :
Sarina Shire Council : Sarina APEX Club

Right Side Inscription

This Clock Unveiled By 
Senator Stan Collard 
On The 1-5-76
Was Erected By 
Sarina APEX 
To Commemorate The Achievements 
Of The Pioneers Of 
Sarina And District

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design