Centenary of FederationPrint Page Print this page

Photographs supplied by Sandra Brown

The time capsule to be opened in 2051, commemorates the centenary of Federation of the Australian colonies in 1901.

The Federation of Australia was the process by which the six separate British self-governing colonies of Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia, and Western Australia formed one nation. They kept the systems of government (and the bicameral legislatures) that they had developed as separate colonies, but they also agreed to have a federal government that was responsible for matters concerning the whole nation. When the Constitution of Australia came into force, on 1 January 1901, the colonies collectively became states of the Commonwealth of Australia.


Address:Church Street Mall, Town Hall, Parramatta, 2150
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -33.815707
Long: 151.003335
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Time Capsule
Monument Theme:Government
Actual Event Start Date:01-January-1901
Actual Event End Date:01-January-2001


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Tuesday 23rd April, 2002
Front Inscription

Plaque :

In 2051, Parramatta City Council`s Centenary of Federation Time Capsule will be opened by the Lord Mayor of the day, 
providing messages to the future and insights into the civic and community life of Parramatta 2001.

Lodged inside the Parramatta Town Hall, the contents of the Time Capsule were collected by Council`s Centenary of Federation Committee 100 years after the nation of Australia came into being on 1 January 1901.

The Right Worshipful the Lord Mayor of Parramatta Councillor John Haines OAM

23 April 2002



Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design