Carrington Hotel Foundation Stone Print Page Print this page

Foundation Stone : May 2014
Foundation Stone : May 2014

Photographs supplied by Peter F Williams
The foundation stone commemorates the Centenary of Federation.

The Federation of Australia was the process by which the six separate British self-governing colonies of Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia, and Western Australia formed one nation. They kept the systems of government (and the bicameral legislatures) that they had developed as separate colonies, but they also agreed to have a federal government that was responsible for matters concerning the whole nation. When the Constitution of Australia came into force, on 1 January 1901, the colonies collectively became states of the Commonwealth of Australia.


Address:Katoomba Street, Carrington Hotel , Katoomba, 2780
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -33.713412
Long: 150.311583
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Government


Front Inscription
Foundation Stone
Unveiled on
3 February, 2001
His Excellency
The Honourable Gordon Samuels AC CVO
Governor of New South Wales
In Celebration of the
Centenary of Federation 1901 - 2001
Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design