Centenary of FederationPrint Page Print this page

Centenary of Federation Plaque : 26-03-2014
Centenary of Federation Plaque : 26-03-2014

Photographs supplied by Sandra Brown
The plaque commemorates the Centenary of Federation celebrated at Caragabal on the 18th August, 2001.

The Federation of Australia was the process by which the six separate British self-governing colonies of Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia, and Western Australia formed one nation. They kept the systems of government (and the bicameral legislatures) that they had developed as separate colonies, but they also agreed to have a federal government that was responsible for matters concerning the whole nation. When the Constitution of Australia came into force, on 1 January 1901, the colonies collectively became states of the Commonwealth of Australia.


Address:Wyalong Street (Mid-Western Highway), Caragabal, 2810
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -33.843663
Long: 147.738928
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Government
Actual Event Start Date:01-January-1901
Actual Event End Date:01-January-2001


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Saturday 18th August, 2001
Front Inscription

1901 - 2001
Centenary of Federation

Centenary of Federation
1901 - 2001

Celebrated at Caragabal
18th August 2001.

Councillor - D.R Taylor   Councillor G.B. Halls

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design