Centenary of FederationPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Arthur Garland / John Huth
An archway entrance to Arthur Square commemorates the Centenary of the Federation of the Commonwealth of Australia in January 1901.

The Federation of Australia was the process by which the six separate British self governing colonies of Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia and Western Australia formed one nation. When the Constitution of Australia came into force, on 1 January 1901, the colonies collectively became states of the Commonwealth of Australia. They kept the systems of government that they had developed as separate colonies but also would have a federal government that was responsible for matters concerning the whole nation.


Address:Pioneer Avenue & Bathurst Street, Arthur Square, New Norfolk, 7140
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -42.778863
Long: 147.066173
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Structure
Monument Theme:Government
Actual Event Start Date:01-January-1901
Actual Event End Date:01-January-2001


Approx. Monument Dedication Date:2001
Front Inscription

This Arch Was Constructed By Students Of The
New Norfolk High School As A Centenary
     Of Federation Project.

The Following Organisations Are Acknowledged -
Derwent Valley Council
Derwent Valley Masonic Lodge
Lions Club of New Norfolk
Norske Skog Boyer
Soroptomist International of New Norfolk
Derwent Valley Service Club

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design