Centenary of Federation Print Page Print this page

18-September-2013 (Graeme Saunders)
18-September-2013 (Graeme Saunders)

Photographs supplied by Graeme Saunders / Sandra Brown

The clock commemorates the Centenary of the Federation of the Australian Colonies in 1901.

The Federation of Australia was the process by which the six separate British self governing colonies of Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia and Western Australia formed one nation.  When the Constitution of Australia came into force, on 1 January 1901, the colonies collectively became states of the Commonwealth of Australia.



Address:King George Street (Murray Valley Highway), Cohuna, 3568
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -35.809169
Long: 144.221878
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Clock
Monument Theme:Government
Actual Event Start Date:01-January-1901
Actual Event End Date:01-January-2001


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Thursday 20th December, 2001
Front Inscription

Centenary of Federation
Memorial  Clock 

20th December 2001

Proudly Donated By Tattersalls

A Cohuna Community project

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design