Labour Electoral LeaguePrint Page Print this page

The Plaque commemorates the centenary of the formation of the first Labour Electoral League in the hall in 1891.  

The first local branch of the Labour Electoral League (LEL) is claimed for Balmain, in Unity Hall in April 1891. The new party was the creation of the trade union movement, especially of shearers, but with many other unions participating. 

The first demonstration of the electoral clout of the new body was its success in the NSW election of June-July 1891, where the Labor Electoral League (usually called by its members and supporters the 'labor' or 'democratic' party) won 35 of 141 seats in the Assembly, winning the balance of power between the Free Trade and Protectionist parties.


Address:292 Darling Street, Unity Hall Hotel, Balmain, 2041
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -33.857592
Long: 151.180828
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Government
Actual Event Start Date:4th-April-1891
Actual Event End Date:4th-April-1991


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Thursday 4th April, 1991
Front Inscription


On 4th April 1891 the Balmain Labourers Union resolved in this upstairs hall formerly Adelphi Theatre to form the first Labour Electoral League .

In June 1891, these leagues won a quarter of these seats including Balmain in the new Legislative Assembly.

Commemorated by
Balmain ALP Branch
4th April 1991

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au