Place of Reflection - West BankPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Arthur Garland
The monument commemorates those who were killed in Tasman Bridge Disaster in January 1975.  The cities of Hobart and Clarence unveiled places of reflection, housing identical memorial plaques, commemorating the collapse of the Tasman Bridge.  The other Place of Relection is in Montagu Bay.

The Tasman Bridge was open to traffic in August 1964. It was a four-lane, high level concrete bridge constructed with a central navigation span for shipping. Prior to 1964, a floating bridge spanned the Derwent.

On Sunday, 5 January 1975 at 9.27 p.m. the bulk carrier Lake Illawarra collided with the Tasman Bridge. Two piers collapsed along with 127 metres of bridge decking. Four cars ran over the gap into the Derwent River, five occupants died while several others managed to escape from two vehicles which teetered on the edge of the gap. Seven crewmen from the Lake Illawarra also lost their lives. The impact of the bridge collapse was quickly felt as Hobart was suddenly cut in two. Eastern shore residents were severely compromised, transport facilities were tested and to compound the issue further, most hospitals, schools, businesses and government offices were located on the western shore.



Address:Tasman Highway & Lower Domain Road, Queens Domain, Hobart, 7000
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -42.872228
Long: 147.333811
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Monument
Monument Theme:Disaster
Sub-Theme:Land Transport
Actual Event Start Date:05-January-1975
Actual Event End Date:05-January-1975


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Friday 26th February, 2016
Front Inscription

In memory of those who tragically lost their lives as a result of the collapse of the Tasman Bridge on 5 January 1975

Angus Brenner Campbell              Arthur Robinson
Dr Thomas Elvet Jones                Thomas Sherridan
Graham Frederick Kemp              Joyce (Joy) Mary Stokoe
Clarence Armstrong Maddigan     Anthony Louis Sward
Louis Ciriaco Mendizabal              Pamela Jean Sward
Robert Rezek                                Reginald Francis Turner

 February 2016


Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au