Centenary of Rugby LeaguePrint Page Print this page

The Centenary Plaques Programme was put in place by the Centenary of Rugby League Committee to commemorate sites of historical significance to Rugby League - such as stadiums, suburban grounds and club formation sites. Nearly every aspect of Australia’s Rugby League landscape is covered by a Centenary Plaque – with plaques dedicated to the commemoration of Indigenous Rugby League, National Rugby League (NRL) first-grade clubs, foundation clubs, former Premiership clubs, New South Wales and Queensland Country, and those sites which were host to the foundation of the game itself in Australia.

The plaque itself bears a prominent Centenary logo, the venue name, and a short paragraph of site-specific text on why the venue has been selected as a site of historical significance to Australian Rugby League.

The Fortitude Valley Diehards were an Australian professional rugby league football club based in the Brisbane suburb of Fortitude Valley. Until their demise in 1995, the Fortitude Valley Diehards, often referred to simply as Valleys, were the oldest surviving rugby league team in Brisbane, Australia, being formed in, and winning their first premiership, in 1909 - also the year of the inaugural Brisbane Rugby League premiership.




Address:Bogan Street, Allan Border Field (Neumann Oval), Albion, 4010
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -27.435556
Long: 153.045
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Culture
Approx. Event Start Date:1908
Approx. Event End Date:2008


Approx. Monument Dedication Date:2008
Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design