Rudder Cup CentenaryPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Arthur Garland / Peter F Williams

The plaque marks the finish of the first ocean yacht race held in Australia and was unveiled in 2007, the centenary year of the event. 

The idea of racing cruising craft in the ocean manned by amateur yachtsmen was conceived by Mr. J. Fleming Day, the editor of the American yachting magazine, the `Rudder`.

Mr. Day had stirred great interest in ocean racing in America since 1904 and very generously decided to extend his liberality to yachtsmen in other parts of the world, and early in 1907 wrote to his friend Commodore T. A. Dickson, of the Geelong Yacht Club, offering a trophy for competition provided he or his club would undertake to carry out the necessary arrangements for an Ocean Race in Australian local waters.

After receiving promises of support from several prominent yachting men in Victoria, the kind offer was then accepted. The inaugural ocean race was to be sailed from Port Phillip Heads in Victoria to Tamar Heads, Tasmania, a distance of 196 nautical miles direct.


Address:496 Low Head Road, Low Head Lighthouse, Low Head, 7253
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -41.055415
Long: 146.789175
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Culture


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Thursday 27th December, 2007
Front Inscription

Rudder Cup Yacht Race 1907 - 2007
(Port Phillip Heads, Victoria To Low Head, Tasmania)

This plaque marks the finish of the first ocean yacht race held in Australia. The race was instigated by Thomas Fleming Day of New York, editor of the Rudder magazine, who provided the Rudder Cup valued at 60 guineas.

Race organisers were the Geelong Yacht Club in conjunction with the Tamar Yacht Club and the winner was the Thistle, skippered by Edgar Newlands from the Hobsons Bay Yacht Club, Victoria, which completed the 198 nautical mile course in 35 hours and 30 minutes on Friday, the 27th of December 1907.

The 2007 Centenary race was organised by the Ocean Racing Club of Victoria and the Tamar Yacht Club.

Unveiled by the Mayor of George Town, Councillor Douglas Burt on the 27th of December 2007.


Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design