Kilburn Speedway PlaquePrint Page Print this page

The plaque dedicated to Rocky Marshall, riders, drivers and all the people involved in the running of the Kilburn Speedway. 

Kilburn Speedway was developed by Rocky Marshall between 1945 and 1951.  It hosted great racers like Sir Jack Brabham ( Australian Speedcar Champion of 1948 at the Sydney Showground ), Harry Neale, Wally Watson, Laurie Jamieson, Jack Young, George Robertson and World Champion Speedway rider Vic Duggan in 1949 attracting a record crowd. In 1950 Jack Young defeated Victoria`s Andy Menzies ( World record holder of the 1/4 mile lap record ) in January while Jim Davies won the Australian Sidecar Championships at Kilburn Speedway in February 1950.


Address:Churchill Road, Jack Watkins Reserve, Kilburn, 5084
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -34.862386
Long: 138.583144
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Culture


Approx. Monument Dedication Date:2003
Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design