Mount Isa Rodeo Hall of Fame Print Page Print this page

The Hall of Fame commemorates the founders, as well as legendary competitors and stock who have competed in the initial venue, Kalkadoon Park and the current venue, the world-class Buchanan Park Events Complex. The Hall of Fame was opened during the diamond jubilee of the Rodeo. 

The Hall of Fame provides a fascinating insight into 60 years of Mount Isa Rodeo heritage. It features original programs, historic photos, Rodeo Queen memorabilia, a beautifully hand-tooled leather prize saddle and even customised Isa Rodeo cans of beer.

The inaugural inductees to the Legends of Isa Rodeo Wall of Fame were:

  • Innovative arena director Don Cummings;
  • Carandotta coordinator and long-serving Rotarian Barry Harkin;
  • Rodeo champion and judge the late Wally Mailman;
  • The Ah One Family who drove the bucking stock in from the outlying Carandotta Station;
  • The inaugural and longest serving Isa Rodeo Committee Chairman Bill Weigh;
  • The founder of Rotary in Mount Isa, the late Sir James Foots;
  • The Isa Rodeo’s initial stock controller Jim Hovi;
  • Designer, builder and driver of the “Smokey” train Peter Kretschmann;
  • Inaugural Isa Rodeo All Around Cowboy Champion Vic Gough;
  • Rodeo champion and judge Bonny Young;
  • The inaugural Secretary of the Australian Rough Rider’s Association, Peter Poole; and
  • Australia’s first female boss drover the late Edna Jesso


Address:19 Marian Street (Barkly Highway), Outback at Isa , Mount Isa, 4825
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -20.726594
Long: 139.499214
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Structure
Monument Theme:Culture


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Thursday 9th August, 2018
Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design