Elite Sportsman`s Walk of HonourPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Peter F Williams

The walkway commemorates the elite sports men and women who have represented Australia in their chosen sport.



Address:Hoskins & Loftus Streets, Paleface Park, Temora, 2666
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -34.446683
Long: 147.533921
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Walkway
Monument Theme:Culture


Approx. Monument Dedication Date:2016
Front Inscription

Elite Sportsman`s Walk of Honour

`The Walk of Honour was established to recognise elite sports men & women of Temora Shire, who have represented Australia, in their chosen sport.`

Members of the Organising Sub-Committee included :

Rick Firman OAM (Chairman), Mrs Judy Gilchrist, Mrs Denise Breust, Mrs Kelly Harper, Messrs Harold Hetherington OAM, John Morton, Tony Stringer, James Durham & Greg Wiencke.

- 2016 -

Plaque :
Temora & District Sports Council

George Barnes
Inducted 2017

He was an Australian professional boxer at different weight divisions between 1948 - 1962
He held State /Australian Titles in Light Welter / Welter / Middle Welter Weight and also a British Empire Welter Weight
Toal fights 67
42 wins [KO 22]
21 losses [KO 1] and 4 draws

George and his father Eric Barnes were the first father / son combination to win National Titles

He was inducted into the Australian Boxing Hall of Fame in 2004

Walk of Honour 


Left Side Inscription

Plaque :
Temora & District Sports Council

Trent Barrett
Rugby League
Inducted 2017

Australian Schoolboys RL 1995
Australian RL 2002 / 2005 15 Tests
New State of Origin 1997 / 2010 11 Games
Country Origin 2003 - 2005
Illawarra, St George Illawarra, Wigan, Cronulla
1996 / 2010 295 games

Captain each club and also NSW in 2010
2000 Dally M Player of the Year, 2000 Dally M 5/8 of the Year
NRL Face of Rugby League 2001
English Super League Player`s Player 2007
Illawarra RL Team of the Century half back
Retired 2010

Walk of Honour 

Plaque :
Temora & District Sports Council

Brett Fritsch
Barefoot Waterskiing
Inducted 2017

Australian Junior Overall Chanpion 1991, 1993
World Jump Champion 1994
Australasian Overall Mens Champion 1995
Australian Representative 1991 - 2008
Multiple State, National, International Titles
Inaugural X-Games competitor, 1995

Walk of Honour 


Right Side Inscription

Plaque :
Temora & District Sports Council

Diane Jenkyn
Inducted 2017

1986 National Grand Prix Champion riding Clavos
1987 won International Haig Cup
1988 National Grand Prix Champion riding her horse Clavos
1989 1st Australian Dressage Team to represent and won Grand Prix in New Zealand
2000 National Grand Prix Champion riding her horse Snowy River Blackwood

Competed at the Diana Ferrari National Titles and her score of 66.6% believed to be the highest percentage in a Grand Prix at that time in Australia

Retired from FEI Dressage in 2010

Walk of Honour 

Plaque :
Temora & District Sports Council

Mark Kerry
Inducted 2017

Mark Kerry represented Australia at 3 Olympic Games.
He competed in 1976 at Montreal, in 1980 at Moscow, won Gold and Bronze, and in 1984 at Los Angeles games where he won Bronze.

Ranked Number 3 in the world by USA Swimming Magazine on 3 occasions - 200 Metre Backstroke

Ranked in the Top Ten swimmers in the world in 1976, 1977, 1979, 1980, 1984 and 1988

Holder of 15 Australian records and 10 Commonwealth records

Walk of Honour 

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design