"Eight Women" Print Page Print this page

Sculptural installation "Eight Women" is a tribute to a century of women’s participation in the Olympic Games and a reminder of the huge contribution women have made to Australian Olympic history. Seven of Australia’s greatest female Olympic athletes, Betty Cuthbert, Raelene Boyle, Dawn Fraser, Shirley Strickland, Shane Gould, Debbie Flintoff-King, and Cathy Freeman, carried the Torch in the Opening Ceremony to light the Olympic Cauldron. The eighth women represented is Australian Paralympian, Louise Sauvage, who ignited the Paralympic Cauldron.


Address:Grand Parade & Showground Road, Cathy Freeman Park (formerly The Overflow), Sydney Olympic Park, 2127
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -33.845001
Long: 151.066316
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Sculpture
Monument Theme:Culture
Designer:Imants Tillers
Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design