Athletic Centre Path of ChampionsPrint Page Print this page

The Athletic Centre Path of Champions recognises Australia’s contribution to sporting excellence by honouring New South Wales athletes who have attained the status of Olympic Champion, World Champion or a World Record Holder in International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) recognised track and field events.

The path consists of 14 plaques of New South Wales athletes and was installed for the Official Opening of the Athletic Centre in March 1994.

Athletes currently in the Path of Champions include:

  • Nick Winter
  • Jack Metcalfe
  • Marjorie Jackson
  • Betty Cuthbert   
  • Fleur Mellor       
  • Marlene Mathews   
  • Albie Thomas   
  • Denis Wilson       
  • Betty Moore       
  • Bob Lay       
  • Maureen Caird   
  • Jennifer Lamy   
  • Kerry Saxby        
  • Jana Rawlinson


Address:Edwin Flack Avenue , Sydney Olympic Park Athletic Centre, Sydney Olympic Park, 2127
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -33.850225
Long: 151.063247
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Walkway
Monument Theme:Culture


Approx. Monument Dedication Date:March-1994
Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design