Narrabri Sporting Wall of FamePrint Page Print this page

Sporting Wall of Fame : 11-August-2014
Sporting Wall of Fame : 11-August-2014

Photographs supplied by Sandra Brown

The Narrabri Sporting Wall of Fame honours the achievements of sportsmen and women who contributed to having Narrabri named as "Australia's Sportiest Town" in 2001.

In 2001 Channel 9 conducted a search to identify Australia’s Sportiest town based on the sportspersons who have come from the town or district.

After much research and thousands of entries, Channel 9 awarded the honour to the NSW town of Narrabri. Over one hundred and ten Australian representatives and champions showcasing forty-four sports were either born in the Narrabri Shire or started their sporting career here.

The judges at the time of the competition were former Wallaby Peter Fitzsimmons, the then Federal Sports Minister Jackie Kelly and AFL legend Gary Ablett.

The awarding of the honour of Australia’s Sportiest Town was made at the time on live television by Channel 9 presenter Tracy Grimshaw

Just a few notable names amongst the National and International Sports Stars emanating from Narrabri Shire are;

  • Jason Stoltenberg (Tennis)
  • Nira (Stove) Windeatt (Swimming)
  • Steve Elkington (Golf)
  • Chris Latham (Rugby Union)

In 2011, Narrabri Shire Council in co-operation with Channel 9 constructed Narrabri Shire Sporting Wall of Fame to make a permanent record of the achievements of the town and district sportsmen and women including those who were part of the original honour bestowed upon the town in 2001.




Address:Tibbereena Street, Leitch Oval, Narrabri, 2390
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -30.32432
Long: 149.781395
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Monument
Monument Theme:Culture


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Saturday 1st October, 2011
Front Inscription

( List of Names)
Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design