Parish of Cook`s RiverPrint Page Print this page

07-July-1934 : Reverend Hordern at the unveiling
07-July-1934 : Reverend Hordern at the unveiling
Photographs supplied by Supplied by Laurel Horton, St Peters Cooks River History Group

The plaque, which was unveiled on the 96th anniversary of the church, commemorates Captain James Cook's association with the naming of the river and subsequently the Parish of Cook's River.

The historic church of St. Peter, Cook's River, is holding its 96th anniversary of the laying of the foundation stone by Governor Gipps in 1838, with a three-day festival, starting on Saturday. Rear-Admiral Ford will unveil an "obelisk" to the memory of Captain Cook, and a flag will also be "broken."
Sun (Sydney),  5 July 1934.


Address:187 Princes Highway, St Peters Anglican Church, St Peters, 2044
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -33.913928
Long: 151.177144
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Culture


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Saturday 7th July, 1934
Front Inscription

Parish of Cook's River

Named - April 12 1838 - 


Captain James Cook R. N.

Discover of Australia 1770

Unveiled on 7 July 1934 by Captain C. J. Pope R A N

Source: MA,HNSW
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au