Saint Mary of the Cross MacKillop & the Sisters of St JosephPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Paul Scott

Three plaques commemorate the canonisation of Saint Mary of the Cross MacKillop and the work of the Sisters of St Joseph in Port Lincoln.

While acting as a governess to her uncle's children at Penola, Mary Mackillop (1842 - 1909) met Father Julian Tenison Woods who, with a parish of 56,000 square kilometres, needed help in the religious education of children in the outback. At the time Mary's family depended on her income so she was not free to follow her dream. However, in 1866, greatly inspired and encouraged by Father Woods, Mary opened the first Saint Joseph's School in a disused stable in Penola.

Young women came to join Mary, and so the Congregation of the Sisters of St Joseph was begun. In 1867, Mary was asked by Bishop Shiel to come to Adelaide to start a school. From there, the Sisters spread, in groups to small outback settlements and large cities around Australia, New Zealand, and now in Peru, Brazil and refugee camps of Uganda and Thailand. Mary and these early Sisters, together with other Religious Orders and Lay Teachers of the time, had a profound influence on the forming of Catholic Education as we have come to know and experience it today.

Mary MacKillop was Canonised on October 17, 2010 at St Peter's Basilica, Rome. Pope Benedict XVI proclaimed Mary's sainthood during the Canonisation Mass.


Address:10 - 14 Mortlock Terrace, Church of St Mary of the Angels, Port Lincoln, 5606
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -34.724778
Long: 135.859109
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Culture


Left Side Inscription
In thanksgiving for the dedication and love of the Sisters of Saint Joseph who served our community.
Right Side Inscription
To commemorate the Canonisation of Mary MacKillop on the 17th October 2010
Source: MA,PS
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au