150 Years of Anglican ServicesPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by John Huth

The time capsule commemorates 150 years of Anglican services in Dalby from 1852 to 2001.

The earliest records of the Church of England in Dalby show that in 1852 Archdeacon Glennie, of Toowoomba, visited the township and held service and baptism in the home of the Ross family. The first resident minister of the church was the Rev. B. G. Moberley, who took charge here in the early 1860s. It was soon after he came that the first Church of England was built, a brick building on a site near where the present State School residence stands. This brick church was later replaced with a wooden church (which later became the parish hall) This building was used until 1923 when the present picturesque church was erected.



Address:153 Cunningham Street, St John's Anglican Church, Dalby, 4405
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -27.183963
Long: 151.263107
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Time Capsule
Monument Theme:Culture
Actual Event Start Date:
Approx. Event Start Date:1852
Actual Event End Date:
Approx. Event End Date:2001


Front Inscription

This Time Capsule was placed after the Anniversary Dinner celebrating 150 years of Anglican Services held in Dalby.

To be opened of 25th May 2051 being the 200th anniversary

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au