Sisters of MercyPrint Page Print this page

18-August-2019 (Russell Byers)
18-August-2019 (Russell Byers)

Photographs supplied by Peter F Williams / Russell Byers

The former Convent was established as the St Mary`s Parish Centre in recognition of the Sisters of Mercy.

On 31st October, 1866, seven Sisters of Mercy, under the leadership of Mother Mary Ignatius Croke, arrived in Bathurst, New South Wales, from Charleville, County Cork, Ireland.  In Bathurst the Sisters immediately took over the Catholic Primary School, and opened a Day and Boarding High School for young ladies, attending to the religious and secular education of the children. They also cared for orphans, trained older girls and helped them to find work, and visited the poor, the sick and the inmates of the local gaol.

Increasing numbers of nuns allowed the Sisters to found a Convent in Mudgee in 1874.




Address:Church Street, St Mary`s Catholic Church , Mudgee, 2850
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -32.591693
Long: 149.589081
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Structure
Monument Theme:Culture
Approx. Event Start Date:1880
Approx. Event End Date:1979


Approx. Monument Dedication Date:1995
Front Inscription

Plaque :

This building, opened as the Convent of Mercy in 1880 and closed in 1979 was established as St Mary`s Parish Centre

In recognition of the Sisters of Mercy


Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au