St Andrew`s Presbyterian Church Print Page Print this page

Stone 2 : 03- May-2015
Stone 2 : 03- May-2015

Photographs supplied by Sandra Brown

The former St Andrew`s Presbyterian Church was built in 1934 to commemorate the Presbyterian jubilee year.

The Presbyterian Jubilee year in the Warragul district is to be marked by the building of a new brick church to take the place of a weatherboard structure built by the pioneers of the movement 40 years ago. The Presbyterian charge was founded in 1884 by the late Rev John E Armour, two of whose sons still reside in the district while one the Rev John Armour, has followed in the ministry, and has the Toowoomba charge in Queensland.

The present minister is the Rev. Neil Macdonald, and the secretary of the building committee is Mr. David Evans. Built on a commanding hill overlooking the town and district, the church will form a landmark, and will accommodate 250 worshippers, with provision made for expansion by the addition of future transepts. The building is designed on simple lines in clinker brick, with coloured brick dressings The spire to the turret will be lined with copper.
The Argus (Melbourne, Vic.), 19 July 1934


Address:Victoria & Albert Streets, Victoria Chapel (Formerly St Andrew`s Presbyterian Church), Warragul, 3820
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -38.158744
Long: 145.930379
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Structure
Monument Theme:Culture
Approx. Event Start Date:1884
Approx. Event End Date:1934
Designer:Frederick Scott Mackay A.R.V.I.A. (architect)
Monument Manufacturer:Cash Brothers (builders)


Approx. Monument Dedication Date:July-1934
Front Inscription

Plaque :

To the glory of God

And to commemorate the jubilee of this church

This stone was laid by the Rt. Rev. John McKenzie M.A. 
- Moderator -

July 1934.


Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au