75th Anniversary of University of Western AustraliaPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Graeme Saunders
Theplaque commemorates the 75th Anniversary of the commencement of classes at the University of Western Australia.

The University of Western Australia (UWA) was established in 1911 as the State's first university. It was also the first free university in the British Empire, actively promoting equal access to tertiary education for all social classes. In 1913, The University opened its doors to 184 students. They attended buildings with timber walls and corrugated iron roofs on a temporary site in Irwin Street, in what is now the Perth central business district.


Address:Irwin & Hay Streets, Perth, 6000
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -31.955789
Long: 115.863651
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Culture
Approx. Event Start Date:1913
Approx. Event End Date:1988


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Thursday 31st March, 1988
Front Inscription

This plaque was unveiled on 31st March 1988 by the Right Honourable the Lord Mayor of Perth, Mr. Michael A. Michael, OAM  to commemorate the 75th Anniversary of the commencement of classes at the University of Western Australia.

Mr. J. M. Prowse  Mayor of Perth
The Hon. Sir John Winthrop Hackett, KCMG  Chancellor
Professor H. E. Whitfield  Vice-Chancellor

Mr. M. A. Michael, OAM  the Rt. Hon. the Lord Mayor of Perth
Mr. D. H. Aitken, ISO  Chancellor
Professor R. H. T. Smith  Vice-Chancellor

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design