Australian Natives Association Centenary-Murtoa BranchPrint Page Print this page

Three timber seats commemorate the centenary of the Murtoa Branch of the Australian Natives Association. One seat is on the median stip in Duncan Street and two at the Water Tower Museum, junction of Comyn Street and Railway Avenue, Murtoa.

The Murtoa ANA was established in 1883 with 15 members. It was branch number 22,  and was formed only 11 years after the pioneer families had taken up land. It grew to 80 by 1908, and peaked at 222 in 1971 when it planted 14 golden pines flanking the Murtoa Memorial Gates to celebrate the centenary of the formation of the ANA.


Address:Duncan Street, Murtoa, 3390
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -36.618852
Long: 142.467963
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Seat
Monument Theme:Culture
Approx. Event Start Date:1883
Approx. Event End Date:1983


Approx. Monument Dedication Date:1983
Front Inscription

Commemorating 100 years of A.N.A. in Murtoa 1883-1983

Source: VMR,RHSV
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au