50th Anniversary of the Murray Valley Development LeaguePrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Ian Bevege

The monument commemorates the 50th anniversary of the Murray Valley Development League, now called the Murray Darling Association.

In 1944, a Murray Valley Irrigation League meeting at Corowa adopted the name Murray Valley Development League for a proposed new development body. Over 300 delegates, including Dr H.V. Evatt, attend the founding conference of the Murray Valley Development League at Yarrawonga on 15 & 16 August 1944. The new league promoted inland development, decentralisation and encouraged communities to 'be conscious of their common heritage, the Murray River.'



Address:Hunt & Lynch Streets, Yarrawonga Foreshore Reserve, Yarrawonga, 3730
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -36.007882
Long: 146.007178
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Monument
Monument Theme:Culture
Approx. Event Start Date:1944
Approx. Event End Date:1994


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Friday 9th September, 1994
Front Inscription

This cairn commemorates the 50th anniversary of the Murray Valley Development League, now the Murray Darling Association.

1944 - 1994

50 years of local government and the community caring for the Murray Darling Basin

Unveiled on 9 September 1994 by Cr. Max Moor, President of the Murray Darling Association

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au