Establishment of the Shortland RSLPrint Page Print this page

RSL Commemorative Plaque : 22-May-2014
RSL Commemorative Plaque : 22-May-2014

Photographs supplied by Sandra Brown
The plaque commemorates those members who established the Shortland R.S.S.& A.I.L.A Sub-branch in 1946.

With the approval of State headquarters, a sub-branch of the Returned Soldiers' League has been constituted at Shortland, with about 30 enrolments. The opening of the sub-branch was celebrated last night in Shortland Garden Club hall, following a business session. Officers were elected as follows Patrons, Ald. H. Scott-Daisley, Dr. C. Firth-Pettinger and Messrs. R. McGregor, W. Easton, W. D. Smith, Fogg and Rutherford; President, Mr. P. Lyall; Vice-presidents, Messrs. H. J. McGregor and A. Marlow; Secretary, Mr. H. J. McGregor; Treasurer, Mr. R. M. Norris; Assistant secretary, Mr. R. Gibson: Trustees, Messrs. J. Middleton, H. Robb and J. Manning; Auditors, Messrs. Hampson, S. Bull and W. D. Smith; Social Committee, Messrs. G. Lloyd (secretary), L. Peters, A. Marlow, A. Dain, T. Thorpe. R. Tuxford, J. Middleton and J. Colville; Sick visitors, Messrs. T. Ansell and J. Hall. The sub-ranch will meet fortnightly.  An offer of a cinema show to help in the estblishment of the sub- branch, made by Mr. Rutherford, was accepted.
Newcastle Morning Herald and Miners' Advocate (NSW),
9 October 1946


Address:3 Conmurra Circuit, Shortland RSL Sub-Branch, Veterans Recreation Hall, Shortland, 2307
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -32.879726
Long: 151.691809
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Culture


Front Inscription

This Plaque Has Been Erected
To Commemorate The Establishment Of
 R.S.S.& A.I.L.A. (N.S.W) BRANCH
By The Following Members In 1946
    (Foundation Year)

         [ Names ]

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au