Centenary of Maclean Highland GatheringPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by John Huth

Five poles commemorate the centenary year of the Maclean Highland Gathering.

The popular Maclean Highland Gathering has been held for over 100 years during the Easter weekend. Participants and bands contest traditional Scottish athletic and cultural competitions, such as caber tossing, highland dancing, band competition, and bagpiping. The "Maclean, The Scottish Town In Australia Association", is a community group which was formed in 1986 under the initiative of former bank manager Mr Graham Leach, and works to promote Maclean's strong Scottish origins. The work of this committee over the years has ensured that Maclean now has national and international recognition as 'The Scottish Town' in Australia.

Many street signs are written in English and Scottish Gaelic, power poles are painted with tartan patterns, and a stone cairn has been erected in Herb Stanford Park.


Address:Bent, Taloumbi &Harwood Streets, Herb Stanford Memorial Park, Maclean, 2463
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -29.462348
Long: 153.20349
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Structure
Monument Theme:Culture


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Saturday 10th April, 2004
Front Inscription

Chief`s Tartan Poles

To commemorate the centenary year of the Maclean Highland Gathering, these five poles were placed to form the St. Andrew`s cross and dedicated in appreciation to the fourteen Chiefs who ruled since 1894.

Chiefs                                 Year      Tartan
Samuel Macnaughton        1894      Macnaughton
John Murray                       1900     Murray
Thomas Lobban                 1903     Logan
Stewart McIntosh              1926     McIntosh
George Wray                      1928    MacRae
Murdoch McKinnon           1932    MacKinnon Hunting
Alexander MacMaster       1936    MacInnes
Alan Cameron                   1937    Cameron
Cecil Gilbert                       1948    Buchanan
James McKinnon              1964    MacKinnon
Angus McAulay                  1974     MacAulay
Kenneth MacLeod            1984     MacLeod of MacLeod
Colin Gregor                      1996     MacGregor
Peter Gordon Smith          2000    Smith

Committee - Lower Clarence Scottish Assocation Incorporated

Chief Peter Smith 
Senior Chieftain Neil McPherson
Junior Chieftain Allan Cameron
Secretary Bob MacPherson 
Treasurer  John McPhee
Graham Anderson
Don Wallace
Jack Wallace
Norma Smith

10th April 2004


Left Side Inscription


Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design