7th DivisionPrint Page Print this page

7th Division : March 2014
7th Division : March 2014
Photographs supplied by Peter F Williams

The plaque commemorates those who served with the 7th Division during World War Two.

The 7th Division was an infantry division of the Australian Army. It was formed in February 1940 to serve in World War Two, as part of the Second Australian Imperial Force (2nd AIF). The division was raised on the British establishment of nine infantry battalions per division and consisted of two new brigades and three of the original 12 battalions of the 6th Division forming the third brigade.

The division is sometimes known by the nickname "The Silent Seventh", due to a perception that its achievements were unrecognised, in comparison to the other Australian divisions. The origin of this belief appears to be censorship of the part played by the 7th Division in the fierce fighting in the 1941 Syria-Lebanon campaign. The 7th Division along with the 6th and 9th Australian Divisions were the only divisions to serve in both the Middle East and the South West Pacific Area. It was disbanded in 1946, following the end of the war.


Address:Argyle Place & Lower Fort Street, The Garrison Church, Millers Point, 2000
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -33.858434
Long: 151.205546
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Conflict
Approx. Event Start Date:February-1940
Approx. Event End Date:1946


Front Inscription

Erected to the glory of God 
and in memory of all 
who served in 

The 7th Australian Division 
Australian Imperial 

1940 -1946

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design