50th Anniversary of the End of World War TwoPrint Page Print this page

14-December-2016 (Sandra Brown)
14-December-2016 (Sandra Brown)

Photographs supplied by Graeme Saunders / Sandra Brown

A monument placed by the Dunkley Australia Remembers Committee commemorates the 50th anniversary of the end of World War Two.

"Australia Remembers, 1945-1995" was a program of activities organised by the Federal Government to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the end of World War Two. 


Address:Young & High Streets, Beauty Park , Frankston, 3199
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -38.148511
Long: 145.121248
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Monument
Monument Theme:Conflict
Actual Event Start Date:15-August-1945
Actual Event End Date:15-August-1995


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Saturday 11th November, 1995
Front Inscription

Australia Remembers
1945 - 1995

Dunkley "Australia Remembers" Commemoration Plaque
To mark the 50th anniversary of the end of World War II, 1939 - 1945

This plaque was placed by the Dunkley "Australia Remembers" Committee to pay tribute to the Australian men and women who served in the theatres of war or on the home front during World War II, 1939-1945.
It honours those who gave their lives for Australia in battle, or who died as a result of the war.
On this day, 11 November 1995, children of the district assembled with war veterans at this site as a gesture of gratitude from the whole community.

Let not the children of Australia forget the courage and herosim of the young men and women of 1939-45 who so valiantly answered the call of their country.

May the children of our nation dedicate themselves with equal courage to the great task of building a world free from war and the threat of war.

May they join in bonds of friendship with the people of all nations to ensure peace on earth, goodwill to all people.

This plaque was unveiled on 11 November 1995 by
Bob Chynoweth MP Federal Member for Dunkley

The "Australia Remembers" Committee :
Len Streets (Chairman)   Bob Chynoweth M.P.   Tom Hampton   Lee Opitz   Maree Wiles (Secretary)   Clive De Jussing   Bert Langley   Michael Quayle   Doris Baker   Lorraine Ekin   Ken Maddison   Dorothy Somers   Tommy Carter O.A.M.   Colin Hampton   Dorothy Murphy  Jean Stemmer

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design