Returned Soldiers` Memorial HallPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Chris McLaughlin / Roger Johnson

The hall commemorates those who died in service or were killed in action during World War One.  The hall was transferred to the Shire Council by the Tumbarumba RSL in 2007 to preserve the ongoing memory of service personnel and the continued utilisation of the hall by the community. 

Constituting the most brilliant social function ever held in Tumbarumba, the immense success, financially and socially of the ball held to mark the opening of the new Memorial Hall in Tumbarumba on Wednesday night last week, was only in keeping with the enthusiasm and hard work that brought the hall into being. The attendance, numbering more than 400 persons, was not confined to residents of Tumbarumba but included a large number of returned, soldiers and their wives and friends from the outlying districts, and neighboring towns, as far away as Wagga, Canberra, Tumut, Young and Albury.

Early in the night the hall was officially opened by Mr. A. Mair, M.L.A. He was introduced by Mr. H. O'Brien, president of the sub-branch of the Returned Soldiers' League, who presented him with a beautifully illuminated address on behalf of his fellow members. Mrs. Mair was presented with a pair of silver scissors in a case, with which she severed the ribbon stretched across the stage, when the hall was declared officially open. Prior to the opening ceremony, speeches were delivered by Messrs. H. O'Brien, J. L. Thomson (president of tne trustees of the hall), S Stanton (representing the State branch of the N.S.W. Returned Soldiers' League), D. Morrow, of Wagga, who did the architectural work of the hall and others.
Daily Advertiser (Wagga Wagga, NSW), 24 September 1936. 


Address:Winton Street, Tumbarumba, 2653
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -35.777766
Long: 148.011446
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Structure
Monument Theme:Conflict
Designer:D. Morrow (Wagga Wagga, NSW) (architect)


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Monday 9th March, 1936
Front Inscription
Memorial Hall
Left Side Inscription

RSL Memorial Hall

This plaque commemorates the transfer of the Tumbarumba Returned and Services League Memorial Hall to  the Tumbarumba Shire Council.

The transfer was agreed to by members of the Tumbarumba RSL Sub-Branch and the RSL of Australia (NSW Branch) to  preserve the ongoing memory of our fallen comrades and continued utilisation of the hall by the community.

The transfer was brought about largely due to the drive and enthusiasm of Sub-Branch President  Mr Ron Hilton (a tireless  campaigner for the RSL and the youth of the community.) 

Mayor Cllr David Robertson            Ron Hilton, President
Brian Pearson, General Manager   David Pendrick, Secretary
                                                        Barry Houting, Treasurer
June 2007


Right Side Inscription

Returned Soldiers` Memorial Hall

This tablet was set by the Hon J. M. Dunningham Esq  M.L.A.

9th March 1936

Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au