6th Light Horse MemorialPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Arthur Garland

The memorial, consisting of concrete walls, gates, platform and steps leading to playing fields, commemorates those who served in the 6th Light Horse Regiment in conflicts in which Australia has been involved. 

There are small garden beds on the platform and two metal flagpoles on east and west sides.



Address:Vaux & Taragala Streets, Holman Oval, Cowra, 2794
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -33.836582
Long: 148.688062
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Monument
Monument Theme:Conflict


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Friday 15th March, 1991
Left Side Inscription

Dedicated to all who served from this District with the 6th Light Horse Regiment

15th March 1991

Plaque :

Their Service - Our Heritage

Men of the Light Horse - your sacrifice & deeds and those of following generations of Australians who fought for Australia will remain ever etched in the history of a grateful nation.

Defence of ANZAC      South Africa 1899 - 1902
Rumani                        Sari Bair
Gaza - Beersheba       Egypt 1915 - 1917
Jordon - Esail              Jerusalem
Megiddo                      Jordan - Amman
South West Pacific      Palestine 1917 - 1918
Cape Endaladere       Buna Gona
Senemi - Creek

This plaque is dedicated to the memory of all those who served in the 6th Light Horse Regiment NSW  Mounted Rifles in peace and war 

This plaque was unveiled by Hon John Sharp MP Federal Member for Hume

23rd April 1998.

Organised by: The Australian Veterans and Defence Services Council & Department of Veterans Affairs.




Right Side Inscription

This commemorative plaque  was unveiled by Alby Schultz MP Federal Member for Hume on 20th October 2001 to commemorate the 55th and final annual reunion of members of the  6th Light Horse /  6th Australian Motor Regiment.

The 6th Light Horse was:
Formed in 1914
Disbanded in 1919
Reformed in 1922
Mobilised in 1939
Redesignated to 6th Australian Motor Regiment 1941
Disbanded in 1943

Squadron Headquarters
Orange  /Millthorpe
A Sqn
Cowra / Canowindra / Mandurama / Toogong
B Sqn
Parkes / Forbes / Condobolin / Trundle
C Sqn
Dubbo / Peak Hill / Narromine / Gilgandra



Source: MA,SKP
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au