Bali Bombing MemorialPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Geoffrey E. Thwaites J.P.

The Bali Bombing Memorial was erected to commemorate those who lost their lives in Bali during a terrorist attack in 2002. 

The Bali bombings on 12 October 2002 was one of the most horrific acts of terrorism that has come close to Australian shores. A total of 202 people, including 88 Australians were killed in the tragedy, which took place in the town of Kuta on the Indonesian island of Bali. A further 209 people were injured.

A number of Indonesians were sentenced to death for their parts in the bombings and in October 2002 Abu Bakar Bashir, a leader of the Jemaah Islamiah organisation often accused of being behind the attacks, was charged over his alleged role in the bombing. In March 2005, Bashir was found guilty of conspiracy over the attacks but was later released.

The Bali bombings 2002 is sometimes called ‘Australia`s September 11’ because of the large number of Australians killed in the attack.  

The monument was designed by a member of the Balinese Royal family, constructed in Bali, and shipped to Allambe Memorial Park. The Nifsan Group generously donated their labour to erect the monument. The monument was co-ordinated by Geoffrey and Syamsinar Thwaites, who lost their son Robert in the tragedy.

The Indonesian-style stone memorial features a bronze plaque with the names of the Australian victims.


Address:129 Nerang - Broadbeach Road, Allambe Memorial Park, Nerang, 4211
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -27.998811
Long: 153.353124
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Monument
Monument Theme:Conflict
Actual Event Start Date:12-October-2002
Actual Event End Date:12-October-2002


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Sunday 12th October, 2003
Front Inscription

In memory of those killed in the Bali Bombing
October 12 2002

New South Wales

Gayle Airlie  Renae Anderson  Christine Betmalik  Abbey Borgia  Geradine Buchan  Steve Buchan  Chloe Byron  Paul Cronin  Francoise Dahan  Michelle Dunlop  Craig Dunn  Shane Foley  Simone Hanley  James Hardman  Andrea Hore  Adam Howard  Josh Iliffe   Dimitia Kotronikis  Elizabeth  Kotronikis  Danny Lewis  Scott Lysaght  Linda Makawana  Dave Mavroudis  Lyn McKeon  Marissa McKeon  Jodie O`Shea  Bradley Ridley  Ben Roberts  Kathy Salvatori  Gregory Sanderson  Cathy Seelin  Tom Singer  Julie Stevenson  Behic Sumer  Clint Thompson  Charles Vanrenen  Jodie Wallace  Shane Walsh-Till  Robyn Webster  Chairmaine Whitton  Gerard Yeo  Louiza Zervos


Jodie Caerns  Jared Cane  Billy Hardy  Paul Hussey  David Kent  
Nathan Swain  Robert Thwaites

South Australia

Joshua Deegan  Angela Golotta  Bob Marshall


Timothy Hawkins


Belinda Allen  Anthony Cachia  Rebecca Cartledge  Bronwyn Cartwright  Donna Croxford  Kristen Curnow  Sylvia Dalais  Angele Gray  Justin Lee Stacey Lee  Aaron Lee  Sue Maloney  Jennifer Murphy  Amber O`Donnell  Jessica O`Donnell  Susan Ogier  Bronwyn Ross  Anthony Stewart  Vanessa Walder  Marlene Whiteley

Western Australia

Peter Basioli  Matthew Bolwerk  Jane Corteen  Jenny Corteen  Andrew Dobson  Dean Gallagher  Byron Hancock  Nicole Harrison  Carol Johnstone  Corey Paltridge  David Ross  Lee Sexton  Jason Stokers  
Tracey Thomas   Jonathan Wade

This monument was dedicated by Her Excellency the Governor of Queensland Ms Quentin Bryce, AC on the 12th October 2003

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design