Alexander ColliePrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Harry Frochter

The monument commemorates Alexander Collie after whom the town is named.

Collie was a surgeon onboard the HMS Sulphur which convoyed the Parmelia with Lieutenant-Governor Stirling aboard, to found the new colony of Western Australia. Collie supervised the loading of the medical stores. The Sulphur arrived at Rottnest Island on 3 June 1829. Collie spent the early weeks on Garden Island where the first hospital tent was erected.

His spare time was occupied in botanical studies. He was allotted 1500 acres (607 ha) on the Swan River and in 1831 received another 500 acres (202 ha) at Albany. With Lieutenant Preston on 17 November 1829 he set out to explore the south-west. They discovered two rivers, named by Stirling the Collie and the Preston. Collie carried on general medical practice until 1831 when he was appointed a justice of the peace and the first government resident at Albany.

On Saturday, November 23, the 'Back to Collie' celebrations will be observed. The idea originated when it was proposed some months ago, that a memorial stone be erected to Dr. Alexander Collie, the discoverer of the Collie River, and it was finally decided to hold a carnival in conjunction with the unveiling of a commemorative tablet. A handsome granite pillar bearing a tablet commemorating the finding of the Collie River has been erected in Steere street and the unveiling ceremony will be performed by the Lieutenant-Governor (Sir James Mitchell) at 11.30 on the Saturday morning.
The West Australian (Perth), 16th November 1935.


Address:Forrest Street, Collie, 6225
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -33.359444
Long: 116.155
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Monument
Monument Theme:People
Sub-Theme:Government - Colonial


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Saturday 23rd November, 1935
Front Inscription


Alexander Collie R.N.,

Physician, explorer, and administrator, who discovered and named the Collie River,

November 23rd, 1829.

Erected by rhe Municipal Council of Collie,

November 23rd 1935.

Source: MA,ADB
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design