Gold Discovery MonumentPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by David Emmett

Mafeking was the site of the last major gold rush in Victoria to new auriferous ground, which began in June 1900 after being discovered by P.E. and F.H. Emmett.

Prospecting for alluvial gold occurred along nearly every creek and gully to the north, south and east of the township of Mafeking. The field contains well-preserved evidence of shallow alluvial sinkings and hydraulic sluicing, but the features are very overgrown.

At its peak the township supported seven policemen and a newspaper, but the rush was short-lived and by 1903 many people had left the area. The township was destroyed by fire in 1939, and a memorial marks the township site today


Address:Moyston Road, Grampians National Park, Mafeking, 3379
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -37.380511
Long: 142.547684
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Monument
Monument Theme:Technology


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Wednesday 25th March, 1964
Front Inscription

Plaque :

Site of Mafeking Township and Goldfield.

Gold discovered by P.E. & F.H. Emmett in June 1900.

Population 10,000.

Erected by the Shire of Ararat & subscribers

25th March 1964

Plaque :

This cairn was erected in 1964 

The centenary year of the Shire of Ararat

R. Tully President


Left Side Inscription

This plaque commemorates the centenary of the discovery of gold at mafeking in 1900 and was unveiled on 25th June, 2000 by Brian Emmett  grandson of Frank Emmett, one of the original party to discover gold at Mafeking.

Formation of the Mafeking Goldmining Company in 1900 by four Emmett brothers and George Mason heralded the last of Victoria's old style gold rushes.


Source: MA,RHSV
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design