CSR Sugar Mills CentenaryPrint Page
Monument erected at the site of the Chatsworth Mill to commemorate the centenary of CSR's first sugar mills at Chatsworth and Southgate on the Clarence River and Darkwater on the Macleay River. It commemorates the pioneering spirit and achievements of the early sugar cane farmers and the millers who contributed to the foundation of the Australian Sugar Industry.
In 1839 Francis Kemble and William Knox Child formed the Australia Sugar Company and commenced the construction of a sugar refinery in Sydney. Before their venture could commence operations, a trade slump and disagreements among the principles led to dissolution of the company. The Australasia Sugar Company was formed to take over the assets of the former venture. The refinery commenced operation in 1842. In 1843 Edward Knox came out to manage the struggling company. He remained as manager until 1846 and as a director until 1854, when disagreements again arose and the company was dissolved. The Colonial Sugar Refining Company was formed on 1 January 1855 to take over the assets. After a fall in world sugar prices in 1857 and with the Company facing financial ruin, Knox decided to grow his own, sending the Company`s sugar expert Melmoth Hall, "an Indian planter of 16 years experience", to report on the potential for sugar growing in October 1868 . Hall`s report was favourable and it was decided to establish central sugar mills on the Macleay and Clarence Rivers.
|Address:||Chatsworth Road, Chatsworth, 2469|
|GPS Coordinates:||Lat: -29.385097|
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
|Approx. Monument Dedication Date:||1970|