Shearers Hall of Fame (Shear Outback)Print Page Print this page

The Australian Shearers’ Hall of Fame honours shearers whose skill, character and contribution to the shearing industry has been exceptional.

The concept of the Australian Shearers` Hall of Fame, was conceived in 1997 by a committed group of individuals from Hay, who believed that the contribution of Australia`s Shearing Industry to the country`s folklore, culture and economy should be recognised.

Inductees to the Hall of Fame : -

2002       Jackie Howe, Julian Stuart, Henry Salter, John Hutchinson OAM, Kevin Sarre

2005      James Davidson, William "Deucem" Smith, Anthony (Tony) Ryan OAM, Andrew (Viv) Parkes

2007     John (Ted) Dean, Henry (Fred) Jarvis, John (Jack) Cameron, Burt Lowery 

2009    John Harris, William (Mick) Thomas, Stephen Pittaway, Shannon Warnest OAM, John Allan OAM 

2011    James (Les) Seary , Vincent Rainbird, Gordon Cahill, Raymond Congdon, Donald Orgill OAM

2013    Mel Johnston, Herbert Hutchins, Tony Smith, Ron Niven, Bimby martin

2015   Richard Duggan, Mark Conlan, Maurice Doyle, Ian Elkins, Kevin Connelly


Address:Sturt & Cobb Highways , Shear Outback, Hay, 2711
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -34.521264
Long: 144.835983
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Structure
Monument Theme:Technology


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Friday 26th January, 2001
Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design