Walgoolan-Jilbadgee Memorial GazeboPrint Page
Memorial gazebo commemorates the launch of a new book called East of the Fence, detailing the history of the Walgoolan-Jilbadgee district. The memorial gazebo contains a list of pioneers’ names and a display of historical photographs.
Walgoolan was established as a siding between 1895 and 1899. The townsite of Walgoolan was gazetted in 1923. Nearly 100 settlers took up and cleared the virgin blocks of land after World War One and soon it was a vibrant community with a cricket club, five tennis courts, five schools, regular dances, a legendary County Women's Association and a proactive Wheat Grower’s Union. However the Great Depression and droughts took their toll, so by 1940 there was just one shop left and these days the Walgoolan town site is abandoned with only 10 families still farming in the district.
|Address:||Great Eastern Highway, Walgoolan, 6422|
|GPS Coordinates:||Lat: -31.379722|
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
|Actual Monument Dedication Date:||Sunday 1st August, 2010|