www.monumentaustralia.org.au

First European Exploration of the Maribyrnong RiverPrint Page Print this page

11-April-2017
11-April-2017
Photographs supplied by Sandra Brown

A plaque commemorates the first European Exploration of the Maribyrnong River by Charles Grimes and party in 1803. The plaque was unveiled on the 200th anniversary.

The first non-Aboriginal people to explore the Maribyrnong arrived in 1803. The New South Wales Governor, Phillip King, had sent a surveying party headed by Charles Grimes, aboard the Cumberland, to watch two French ships exploring Bass Strait. Grimes’ party also explored Port Phillip Bay, making landings at several points and rowing up the Maribyrnong River as far as present-day Avondale Heights. Here they noted an Aboriginal fish trap at a ‘rock falls’ across the river.

Location

Address:Van Ness Avenue, Living Museum of the West, Maribyrnong, 3032
State:VIC
Area:AUS
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -37.775248
Long: 144.89496
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map

Details

Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Landscape
Sub-Theme:Exploration
Actual Event STart Date:03-February-1803

Dedication

Approx. Monument Dedication Date:February-2003
Front Inscription

City West Water   Melbourne Water   Parks Victoria

This plaque commemorates 
the first European Exploration 
of the Maribyrnong River 
        by 
Charles Grimes, Surveyor, James Flemming, Gardener, 
and a rowing party on 3 February 1803.

200th Anniversary February 2003


 

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design