Thomas MitchellPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Graeme Saunders

The cairn erected in memory of Thomas Mitchell was unveiled by Mr. A.S. Kenyon, Vice President of the Historical Society of Victoria on the 20th June 1936 as part of the centenary celebrations that were held in the town.
The Argus (Melbourne) 22nd June 1936.

At the unveiling of the Bulla memorial for Hume and Hovell, Charles Daley the Secretary of the Victorian Historical Society suggested that the idea be extended to other explorers and a committee was formed to mark out the routes of Charles Sturt, Thomas Mitchell, Angus McMillan, and Count Paul de Strzelecki.

Thirty-six cairns or tablets to Mitchell were erected at Nyah West, Swan Hill, Cohuna, Mount Pyramid, Fernihurst, Wedderburn, Kanya, Stawell, Mount William, Horsham, Mtount Arapiles, Miga Lake, Harrow, Coleraine, Casterton, Dartmoor, Isle of Bags, Portland, Mount Rouse, Mount Napier, Hamilton, Lake Repose, Dunkeld, Middle Creek, Mount Greenock, Skipton, Mitchellstown, Nagambie, Castlemaine, Expedition Pass, Kyneton, Benalla, Wangaratta, Chiltern, Gooramadda and a public park at Natimuk (Major Mitchell Park, Mtount Arapiles, Natimuk).


Address:Monash Drive, Riverside Park, Swan Hill, 3585
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -35.339686
Long: 143.563933
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Monument
Monument Theme:Landscape
Actual Event STart Date:20-June-1836
Actual Event End Date:20-June-1836


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Saturday 20th June, 1936
Front Inscription

Major Mitchell camped here June 20th 1836.

Erected June 20th 1936

Source: MA,MED,VMR
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design