Thomas MitchellPrint Page Print this page

At the unveiling of the Bulla memorial for Hume and Hovell, Charles Daley the Secretary of the Victorian Historical Society suggested that the idea be extended to other explorers and a committee was formed to mark out the routes of Charles Sturt, Thomas Mitchell, Angus McMillan, and Count Paul de Strzelecki.

Thirty-six cairns or tablets to Mitchell were erected at Nyah West, Swan Hill, Cohuna, Mt Pyramid, Fernihurst, Wedderburn, Kanya, Stawell, Mt. William, Horsham, Mt Arapiles, Miga Lake, Harrow, Coleraine, Casterton, Dartmoor, Isle of Bags, Portland, Mt Rouse, Mt Napier, Hamilton, Lake Repose, Dunkeld, Middle Creek, Mt Greenock, Skipton, Mitchellstown, Nagambie, Castlemaine, Expedition Pass, Kyneton, Benalla, Wangaratta, Chiltern, Gooramadda and a public park at Natimuk (Major Mitchell Park, Mt. Arapiles, Natimuk)


Address:Leitchville - Pyramid Road, Mount Hope, Leitchville, 3567
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -35.990556
Long: 144.2025
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Plaque
Monument Theme:Landscape
Actual Event STart Date:24-June-1836
Actual Event End Date:24-June-1836


Approx. Monument Dedication Date:1936
Source: MED,VMR
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design