Centenary of QueenslandPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by John Huth

A fountain commemorates the centenary of Queensland becoming a self-governing state.

In 1851, a public meeting was held to consider Queensland's separation from New South Wales. On 6 June 1859 Queen Victoria signed Letters Patent to form the colony of Queensland. A proclamation was read by George Ferguson Bowen on 10 December 1859  whereupon Queensland was formally separated from New South Wales. Bowen became the first Governor of Queensland and Robert Herbert became the first Premier of Queensland.

Queensland was the only Australian colony that commenced with its own parliament instead of first spending time as a Crown Colony.


Address:George Street, Civic Centre, Kalbar, 4309
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -27.939167
Long: 152.623889
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Fountain
Monument Theme:Government
Actual Event STart Date:06-June-1859
Actual Event End Date:06-June-1959


Approx. Monument Dedication Date:1959
Front Inscription

Erected by the Kalbar Sub-Branch R.S.S.A.I.L.A. to commemorate the Queensland Centenary Year

Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design