Centenary of FederationPrint Page Print this page


Photographs supplied by Sandra Brown
A bell, formerly in the first church at Bogan Gate, was refurbished and erected to commemorate the centenary of Federation in 2001. 

The Federation of Australia was the process by which the six separate British self governing colonies of Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia and Western Australia formed one nation.  When the Constitution of Australia came into force, on 1 January 1901, the colonies collectively became states of the Commonwealth of Australia.


Address:Lachlan & Edols Streets, Burrawang Park , Bogan Gate, 2876
GPS Coordinates:Lat: -33.106805
Long: 147.801735
Note: GPS Coordinates are approximate.
View Google Map


Monument Type:Technology
Monument Theme:Government
Actual Event STart Date:01-January-1901
Actual Event End Date:01-January-2001


Actual Monument Dedication Date:Monday 1st January, 2001
Front Inscription

"Centenary of Federation Bell" 

Mr W W Black originally donated this bell to the Union Church in 1900.
The first church in Bogan Gate

The bell was refurbished and erected in Burrawang Park, Bogan Gate on 1 January 2001


Source: MA
Monument details supplied by Monument Australia - www.monumentaustralia.org.au
Proudly sponsored by UBC Web Design